Favorites

by Bailey

This week saw two of my favorite things:  Nestle Tollhouse chocolate chip cookies and When Harry Met Sally.  Need I say more?  If you’re British, probably yes.  Nestle Tollhouse is a brand of chocolate chip that prints their cookie recipe on the back of the bag.  This is the recipe that most people start their baking with, and then move on to bigger and better things as their baking improves.  Not me.  Caitlin and I used to be terrible bakers.  We’d make these chocolate cookies but add baking powder instead of soda, put in too much salt, completely melt the butter, or just plain burn the cookies.  At the end of high school however, we started to get it right, and we discovered that it wasn’t just the cookie dough that tasted fantastic, the cookies were pretty good as well.  And even though I know that there are better, more sophisticated recipes out there for the perfect chocolate chip cookie, I’m going to remain faithful.  And the dough tastes amazing. My second love this week was When Harry Met Sally.  Unlike the cookies, I hadn’t experienced this until I moved into the Wesly House, or more accurately, moved in with Anna.  I feel as if I’m making up for lost time however, for this movie is quickly becoming a favorite.  I love that it’s set in the fall and winter, that “It Had to Be You” reappears throughout the film, and that Meg Ryan’s hair only gets curlier as the movie progresses. And the old couples?  I want to be that someday.

