Settling

by Bailey

I feel like I’m starting to settle in. The kind of settling where you can curl comfortably on the couch or sit on your flatmates bed to chat.   My room, for better or worse, is starting to look lived in, with pictures pinned on the wall and laundry drying and books piled up.  I think there’s something about cold weather and socks and lots of cups of tea that is making this smoother.  The wonderful flatmates to drink the tea with probably have something to do with it as well.   Don’t get me wrong: there are some things that keep reminding me that this is not quite home.  Roommates are flatmates, desserts are puddings, and I am apparently incapable of pronouncing certain names correctly.  I still ask  “Sorry, what?” more than I should, and I spent way too long today learning the hard way that Italian sausage is simply not to be found in Scotland.  But today, for the first time, I had a friend over for dinner.  I feel like it was a big step.  We sat and talked over lasagna and chocolate and tea (what a combination), and it was so nice to be able to invite someone into my home.  So yes, I’m a month in and I still have a long way to go.  I’m learning that building a community takes time and effort and patience.  But I’m also finding that a month in, I’ve come pretty far, starting to feel comfortable in this new flat and city and community.

(I apologize for yet another random picture.  Eventually I’ll actually remember to take some photos.  For now, you get a picture of the meadows, one of my views on my walk back from class.)

