Looking Up

by Bailey

I don’t dislike writing papers. I even kind of enjoy it, especially when you reach the point in the writing process where you’re immersed enough that you stop taking study breaks every five minutes to check again if that not-so-important email has come through yet. I do dislike that around the end of the term/quarter/whatever you want to call it, I become so caught up in word counts and bibliographies that they start to seem more like real life than my real life. Granted, this usually happens because I put essays off until this kind of focus is needed, but I still think that when someone asks me how my week is going and all I can think to tell them is the status of my papers, there’s a perspective problem.  So today, because my real life does not revolve around the 800 words still needed for an essay, I am going to share with you (and challenge myself to think of) pieces of this week that have been important and God-given.

Sister time: Caitlin came to Edinburgh Monday night to see the German Market and borrow a dress (I think we’re both having withdrawls from one another’s wardrobes).  We went out to Indian food, wandered around the market, and talked until we remembered to stop talking at eachother and start talking with eachother.

Skype dates: It seems as if my internet senses when I am on skype and decides at that time to start having problems.  Despite this, I am so incredibly grateful for the chance it gives me to see friends.  This week I got to talk to both Sarah and Laura, and it was so so good to talk to both of them. I’m getting so excited for the chance to see both of them in person!

Donald Miller: I decided I’d been spending too much time on the internet and I needed some other form of entertainment for when I was procrastinating.  I read Donald Miller’s Blue Like Jazz several years ago and loved it, so I decided to read another of his books, A Thousand Miles in a Million Years.  I just love the way he writes; his honesty reminds me that it’s okay to be imperfect and struggle and ask God questions.

Flatmate time: Our schedules this week have worked out so that I’ve been spending afternoons with Gwen and dinnertime with Moira, and it’s been a nice treat to have one on one time with each of them.  Just the process of writing this post and thinking through my week has reminded me what a gift it is to live with these girls.

So yes, it’s been a crazy to-do list week, but it’s also been a really rich week…I just needed to look up from my word count to see it.

 

